Loch Lomond

This is the story of how I learned just how far 50 miles is.

There are so many places in Scotland that I keep telling myself I’ll go see, yet it took me nearly two years to actually go somewhere other than Glasgow and Edinburgh. I woke up on the 23rd of April and thought “Let’s bike to Loch Lomond!” Go ahead and file that under the many idiotic decisions I’ve made.

IMG_6374

Finding the loch was much easier than I thought it would be, thanks to National Cycle Route 7. I hit Loch Lomond Shores around 12pm and decided to bike further along the loch to find a less tourist-filled spot. I don’t recall ever having biked more than 15 miles in one day, so with 20 miles down at this point, I was already half convinced I would die here. When I found a place to relax, I sent my ex-flatmate a moving-out notice.

It reached a point where I wasn’t even sure I was biking alongside Loch Lomond anymore. I couldn’t see any water and there were no more cyclists on the trail, so I started getting a bit worried. So what did I do? I stopped and biked back the way I’d come from, right? No. I biked another couple of miles and eventually found somewhere to chill (to be honest, I think I would’ve been willing to chill in Tartarus by this point).

I still have no idea where I was. I couldn’t even say for sure if the water was, in fact, Loch Lomond water, but for the sake of my sanity, I like to think that it is.

IMG_6386

I’m only just getting the hang of this selfie thing (and I sure hadn’t when this trip took place), but there was no way I wasn’t commemorating it with photographic evidence that I was there. So I set the camera on my phone on a timer and ran back and forth a few times, trying to take a picture that made me look cool and somewhat nonchalant at the same time. Free entertainment for the boat dwellers in the background.

IMG_6398

IMG_6388

I was on the brink of tears when the realisation that I had to bike all the way back hit me. I almost took the train, but decided against it because I wanted to prove to myself that I could pull through. I made it home around 6pm and was nothing but pleased with myself. My butt was in pain for a few days afterwards but it was worth it.

– Cat

Leave a Reply

