Grand Canyon+

I’m supposed to be working so, of course, that’s the opposite of what I’m doing. Will I resent myself for this negligence later? Yes. But that’s what I like to call a then problem. I’m choosing to focus on the now problem, which is finishing up this American road trip series (four months after the trip ended).

Some of you might remember, the previous blog post claimed that I travelled straight from Seattle to Las Vegas. Might is the keyword in that sentence. If you read my stuff regularly and attentively enough to genuinely have retained that bit of information, please come forward so we can be best friends.

That was off-topic. Point was, I went straight to Las Vegas, so you might be wondering why this post is called Grand Canyon+ and the answer is simple: in terms of travel and exploration, I have very little to say about Vegas. I had a great time with my dad and the PanzerGlass* team, but aside from the Convention Centre, all we saw was the Strip and I was kind of overwhelmed by it.

*They’re not sponsoring me, I’m just trying to get them to.

Vegas: an honest summary

I have no photos worth sharing of the exteriors of the many hotels on the Strip, but as I’m sure you can imagine, it was surreal. I felt like I was everywhere and nowhere all at once, and that wasn’t exactly a feeling I enjoyed.

For me, part of the appeal of travelling is to experience culture and see cultural heritage where it belongs, so being able to see the Eiffel Tower, the Trevi Fountain, and the Sphinx within one hour in Vegas felt wrong to me. It felt artificial (because that’s literally what it is), which isn’t something I personally enjoy, but to each their own.

A couple of things I thoroughly enjoyed in the city were going on a roller coaster ride at Stratosphere Tower and seeing David Copperfield live. That was insane. I was beyond impressed and I still have no idea how any of the illusions worked. Better yet, I have no desire to know. I’m perfectly content just having experienced it.

img_4221
A much-needed view of the far less stressful side

The Turning Point

Papa Dearest and I woke up at 5am the day before our flight back to the Continent. He was ill and I was groggy, but we were ready to see the Grand Canyon all the same – then we found out the tour had been cancelled due to bad weather. So my dad made a call and rescheduled the trip for the next day (aka the day of our flight back to the Continent). Then he went back to bed.

Fast-forward to the next day. No cancellations, but we had to get up at 4am. Are you suffering at the thought too, or is that just me? My dad had gone all out and booked us a helicopter tour. We do bougie things sometimes. Sorry not sorry.

We flew over the Hoover Dam and into the Canyon as the sun was rising and it was just as beautiful as it sounds. Back in August, I claimed I’d wake up at 5am every day to have Gamla Stan all to myself (and I stand by that) and the same is true for waking up at 4am to see the sunrise over the Grand Canyon.

IMG_4245

IMG_4271

Ten states later…

I came to the conclusion that I’m an idiot.

I limped around DC for an entire day because I messed up my foot pretty much immediately and was too stubborn to rest and recuperate.

I ordered small coffee in Baltimore.

I walked around the LOVE sculpture in Philadelphia three times before I realised I’d already found what I was looking for.

I went to Pittsburgh.

I became ill, thus rendering myself incapable of participating in an iconic game of True American in Conneaut.

I went to Niagara Falls in deep winter when I was still ill.

I walked around a druid stone circle in Lowell three times before I realised I’d already found what I was looking for. Sound familiar?

I started (and finished) a new TV show in Vegas.

I travelled around the northeastern states in deep winter armed with broken shoes and a jacket that’s basically a flannel shirt.

But I had an okay time.

img_4280

It might have taken me four months, but that’s officially the end of the American Road Trip Chronicles. Stay tuned for more Continental content.

– Cat

Leave a Reply

